Morpeth Town staged a second-half comeback to win the FA Vase.

Morpeth beat Hereford FC 4-1 to become the seventh Northern League side to win the FA Vase in eight years.

Hereford went ahead after 75 seconds through Rob Purdie's 25-yard shot, but Morpeth rallied to clinch victory.

In the FA Trophy final, Scott McManus scored the only goal of the game as Halifax beat promoted Grimsby 1-0 in their first visit to the stadium.

Halifax end long wait for success

Grimsby Town were at Wembley for the second time in eight days, having won promotion back to the football league after a six-year absence with last weekend's victory over Forest Green in the National League promotion final.

But it was Halifax Town of National League North, on their first trip to Wembley, who started the brighter with McManus sending a curling free-kick over the bar.

Scott McManus's sister, who plays for Man City Ladies, was knocked out of the Women's FA Cup in the semis

Following a first half in which neither keeper was really tested, McManus scored the game's only goal in the 48th minute.

The 26-year old sent the 10,000 Halifax Town fans wild when he lobbed Town keeper James McKeown from 25 yards.

The Mariners upped their intensity, almost grabbing an equaliser in added time, but Halifax cleared off the line to hold on for a famous victory.

Second-half comeback in Vase

In their first season in their new existence, following the demise of wound-up Hereford United in December 2014, Peter Beadle's reformed Bulls had already won three trophies this season - notably winning the Midland League at their first attempt.

Hereford had three players on show - Purdie, Ryan Green and skipper Joel Edwards - who also used to play for the Bulls in their Hereford United days.

After Purdie's explosive early opener, roared on by more than 20,000 travelling fans, the Bulls dominated the first half, hitting the bar and wasting a string of other first-half chances.

Chris Swailes completes remarkable FA Vase hat-trick with Morpeth

Chris Swailes (second left) celebrates with his Morpeth team-mates after equalising in FA Vase final

Chris Swailes became Wembley's oldest goalscorer, and won the competition for a third time, as he helped Morpeth Town beat Hereford 4-1 to win the FA Vase on Sunday.

The 45-year-old, who played for Ipswich, Bury and Rotherham among others during a lengthy Football League career scored Morpeth's equaliser just over two years after falling ill while playing for Dunston UTS and having to have his heart restarted three times. Swailes, who has since undergone four lots of heart surgery, returned to the playing ranks earlier this year after ending a spell as assistant manager to Martin Canning at Hamilton Academical.

Morpeth Town celebrate with the trophy after winning the FA Vase final

Victory for the Northern League Division One side looked to be a long way off when Rob Purdie put Hereford, backed by nearly 20,000 fans, in front after less than two minutes with a 20-yarder. Sirdic Grant had two chances to add to their lead, hitting the crossbar with one of them, before Swailes bundled the ball home from close range after former Torquay 'keeper Martin Horsell failed to deal with a high cross. Morpeth were buoyed by that goal and almost grabbed a lead before half-time through top-scorer Michael Chilton, but they did go in front two minutes after the break through Luke Carr. Keith Graydon played a big part in Morpeth's second goal, and he also set up the third on 59 when a through-ball made it all the way through for Sean Taylor to sidefoot past Horsell.

Hereford FC mascot 'Hawkesbury Ronaldo' is paraded in front of fans

By now Morpeth were dominant, and they had few problems dealing with Hereford's desperate attacks before adding a fourth goal two minutes into added time through substitute Shaun Bell. For Swailes that meant time to celebrate a third Vase final victory, after lifting the trophy as a 22-year-old with Bridlington Town in 1992 and again with Dunston UTS in 2012.


Central Midlands League NorthBrodsworth Welf AFC
Central Midlands League NorthDinnington Town
Combined Counties 1st DivisionSheerwater
Combined Counties 1st DivisionWorcester Park
Combined Counties Premier LeagueChessington & Hook U
Combined Counties Premier LeagueColliers Wood United
Combined Counties Premier LeagueFrimley Green
Combined Counties Premier LeagueRaynes Park Vale
Dorset PremierBlandford United
Dorset PremierHamworthy Recreation
East Midlands CountiesGreenwood Meadows
East Midlands CountiesRadford
Eastern Counties Division OneCornard United
Eastern Counties PremierStanway Rovers
Eastern Counties PremierWalsham Le Willows
Eastern Counties PremierWhitton United
Hampshire Football LeaguePEHFL
Hampshire Football LeagueWYVERN COMBINATION
Hampshire Football LeagueColden Common F.C.
Hampshire Football League Fleetlands F.C.
Hellenic Division One EastChalfont Wasps
Hellenic Division One WestCarterton Town
Hellenic PremierBinfield
Isthmian Premier LeagueMetropolitan Police
Isthmian 1st Div NorthGreat Wakering Rovers
Isthmian 1st Div SouthGreenwich Borough
Leicestershire Senior PremierFriar Lane & Epworth
Midland Football League Div 1Heath Hayes
Midland Football League Div 1Nuneaton Griff
Midland Football League Div 1Pelsall Villa
Midland Football League Div 1Pershore Town
Midland Football League Div 1PilkingtonXXX
Midland Football League Div 1Southam United
Midland Football League PremierBrocton
Midland Football League PremierHighgate United
Midland Football League PremierQuorn
Midland Football League PremierTividale
Northern Counties East Div OneWorsbrough Bridge Athletic
Northern Division OneBillingham Synthonia
Northern Division OneJarrow Roofing Bolden CA
Northern Division OneMorpeth Town
Northern Division TwoThornaby
Northern Premier PremierSutton Coldfield Town
Northern Premier 1st Div NorthBamber Bridge
Northern Premier 1st Div NorthTadcaster Albion
Northern Premier 1st Div SouthMarket Drayton Town
South West Peninsula Div One EastCrediton United
South West Peninsula Div One EastNewton Abbot Spurs
South West Peninsula Div One EastTeignmouth
South West Peninsula Div One WestHolsworthy
South West Peninsula Div One WestLiskeard Athletic
South West Peninsula Div One WestPorthleven
South West Peninsula PremierCullompton Rangers
South West Peninsula PremierNewquay
Southern Combination Premier DivisionBroadbridge Heath
Southern Combination Premier DivisionNewhaven
Southern 1st Div CentralBeaconsfield SYCOB
Southern 1st Div CentralChalfont St Peter
Southern 1st Div CentralGodalming Town
Southern 1st Div South WestBishop's Cleeve
Southern 1st Div South WestSlimbridge AFC
Southern 1st Div South WestWimborne Town
Spartan South Midlands PremierBroxbourne Borough
United Counties PremierKirby Muxloe
Wessex Division OneAndover New Street
Wessex Division OneChristchurch
Wessex Division OneEast Cowes Vics Athletic
Wessex Division OneTotton & Eling
Wessex PremierAlresford Town
Wessex PremierBlackfield & Langley
Wessex PremierBrockenhurst
West Midlands Regional LeagueWMRL
West Midlands Regional Division OneBromyard Town
West Midlands Regional Division OneBustleholme FC
West Midlands Regional Division OneWednesfield
West Midlands Regional PremierCradley Town
West Midlands Regional PremierDudley Town
West Midlands Regional PremierGornal Athletic
West Midlands Regional PremierPegasus Juniors
West Midlands Regional PremierWellington (WM)
West Midlands Regional PremierWillenhall Town
West Midlands Regional PremierWolverhampton Casuals
Western Division OneChard Town
Western PremierBridport
Western PremierGillingham Town